Improving with scrum

I feel like I have more control over the scrum schedule and the whole product backlog and sprint plan now. I have learned how to use the program and how it works, how to think when writing things down. At the start when I created an example schedule only to show our scrum master it lacked alot of things. It contained maybe 10 tasks and I thought that was enough, as I had never seen a game scrum document before. I also didn't realise exactly what the different topics within the schedule ment and stood for.

Before I went away for a week I looked at our backlog and pin pointed the most important things that had to be done before the alpha. It was done easily by just looking at the date the product is supposed to be finnished. By doing it like that I can easily check all alpha tagged assets and make sure to finish them in time before the alpha date passes.

Despite being very long and detailed, our product backlog wasn't even close to being finished at start. Even though we sat for a long time and discussed and made sure we had a finished game if we combined all our assets together we still missed alot of things that I first realised later on.

I can see the importance of having a good plan now even for a smaller game such as this. In the start I was a bit sceptical and thought we could manage without a serious scrum schedule just because of the small size of the project. It's very easy to navigate and make sure everything that is done is checked as either finished or started. And if you would miss to change from started to finished it's no big deal. The project manager will notice it sooner or later and just change it.

So to wrap everything up. Personally, I have improved with scrum, but it's not only about that but also the fact that I now understand how it works. Unlike before when I was unsecure and unsure of how to use this way of working.

 
 
The left part of the picture shows my old scrum document and the right part shows the new one, with nearly 300 tasks.